ExperimentalExperience

Anthony Suau: Quiet, Serious, Profilic, Focused

In Uncategorized on July 21, 2009 at 1:55 pm

I don’t Anthony, but I do remember him for a little book he produced as we were preparing to wage war on Iraq. I don’t think a lot of people bothered with it, what with the hysteria and patriotic jingoism of the period. But Anthony went ahead and produced this little book called Fear This. 41A1M926SKL._SS500_I recommend you look it up. I don’t know how well it sold, but I suspect that given the atmosphere of the period, probably not a whole lot (I hope I am wrong). But what it did represent was an individual photographer’s response to the times. Here was a major, mainstream magazine photographer who held on to his individual sense of right and wrong, and very cleverly, in a quiet, civilized way, choose to say something about it.

Anthony Suau also won a World Press Photo award this year. Here is a short video of him. I also post this to show you what working with as little equipment as possible can be a powerful way to allow your individuality and voice to come forward. You are forced to rely on your skills, mental and physical, to compensate and adjust to overcome what first appear to be limitations.

I will post a few other videos in the coming hours/days. They will repeat the same mantra; simple equipment, sophisticated eyes, and a mind that is seriously seeing.

Asim

  1. [...] on his archive site US Economy 2008 2009. I have written about Anthony in an earlier piece called Anthony Suau: Quiet, Serious, Profilic, Focused « Before The Idea Of India Project Update: April 10th 2010 April 10, 2010 [...]

Leave a Reply

